Layer Manager

From MXWendler Wiki
Revision as of 14:00, 24 March 2020 by Behrooz (talk | contribs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Introduction

The Layer Manager enables the layer-based processing of video media, a procedure well known in image processing. Individual image components are composed together in a stack, from bottom to top.
The Layer Manager is the origin of the Output Pipeline, where the compositing for the track happens.

Features

By default it contains a number of 8 layers (per Track). (A)

The settings can be changed in the Settings menu under:

Settings → Windows → Misc.

A Maximum of 16 layers can be used in each Track.

Layers: media in playback, is shown here. (B)

  • The layers work in a bottom to top structure, the higher layer is on top of the output.
  • The layers can be linked with each other through the chain symbol on the top-right corner of each layer.
  • Each modification applied to a linked layer will be applied also to the other linked layers.
  • By editing a linked layer while holding the Modifier Key (Windows: CTRL), only the selected layer is modified.

Layer Manager.png

Layer Preview: shows a preview of the selected layer. (C)

  • A clip from Preload, File Browser or Live Editor can be dragged&dropped here and it will be played in the first free layer from bottom.
  • The position of layer in output, can be edited here by drag&drop and can be scaled using the two pivots on top of the Layer Preview.

Transforms: editable values to transform the size and shape of the selected layer. (D)

Create Patch: creates a Patch, namely saves the composition in Set to be recalled in a later moment.

  • A Patch can be made from the selected track or, simultaneously from more tracks. See also Set. (E)

Delete: the Delete Layer button is marked with an 'X'. By clicking it, the selected layer will be deleted.(F)

  • Clicking X while holding the Modifier Key (Windows: CTRL), deletes all the layers of the track at once.
  • Tip: deleting a layer saves the changes in the original Preload of the layer.

Layer Manager2.png